Back to Trust in Play Homepage

Mapping Part 1 - game designers/collectives, social media group, websites, festivals


#1

I am now working on a list of actors involved in different ways in urban game design.

This is a work in progress and can be improved on with your help - feel free to add ideas in comments, and I will amend them into the text. As the game design is a super broad category, I will also include designers who do electronic games that can be played outside - and I’d be glad to have a discussion about whether that’s a good decision.

Also, if you think there should be other categories included, I’d be happy to look for them.

Designers and design teams

Kaho Abe, based in New York - kahoabe.net
Marilena Agathou, Greece https://www.linkedin.com/in/marilenaagathou https://twitter.com/magatoo
Elina Roinioti, Athens https://twitter.com/the_berlina / http://gamephilosophy.org/members/elinaroin/
Zack Wood US, Berlin http://wzackw.com
Agustina Woodgate AR/US, http://agustinawoodgate.com
Grupa MV - Viola Kijowska, Marcin Ropka PL, http://www.facebook.com/grupamv
Invisible Playground, DE, http://invisibleplayground.com
Martin Nerurkar, www.martin.nerurkar.de
Martin Reiche, DE, http://www.martinreiche.com
Michael Straeubig, DE, http://www.i3games.de
Peter Lu and Lea Schönfelder
Applied Living, SE http://www.appliedliving.org: Niklas Persson, Mikael Vesavuori, Thom Kiraly
David Fono, CA, http://www.mobilefono.com
Jason Corace (US), http://www.goldengrave.com
SaBa - Sam Sheffield and Barry Whittaker, US, http://sabaisnotafish.com
Viv Schwarz, UK www.vivianeschwarz.co
Ellan Parry, UK, www.ellanparry.co
Gian and Friends
Greg Foster, Jana Wendler, Scott Gaule
Copenhagen Games Collective www.copenhagengamecollective.org
Patrick Jarnfelt, DK, http://about.me/patrick.jarnfelt
Entropika, GR, http://artemispapageorgiou.com
ZebraProjekt, PL, http://zebraprojekt.pl
Dcalk, FR/BE http://leschiensdelenfer.org
Departament Gier with Encounter teams from Warsaw and Penza, PL/RU, http://departamentgier.pl
The Larks, UK, http://www.the-larks.com
KIX - Enrique Perez, ME, http://www.pancredad.com
Urban Action, IL, http://72hoururbanaction.com
David Fono, CA, http://www.mobilefono.com, http://twitter.com/fonograph
Holly Gramazio, UK, http://hollygramazio.net
Sebastian Gassner https://www.sebastiangassner.com/
Daniel J Wilson http://www.danieljwilson.com/
Eric Zimmerman, US, http://www.ericzimmerman.com
Patrick Jarnfelt DK, http://about.me/patrick.jarnfelt
Lena Mech, CZ, http://lenamech.com
Tassos Stevens UK, http://www.allplayall.net
Bytomska Gra Miejska, PL, http://facebook.com/BytomskaGraMiejska
Peg, UK
Jussi Holopainen, FI
Szu-Ni Wen, Bager Akbay, Friedrich Kirschner (DE/TW/TU)
Make and Do - Hilary O’Shaughnessy, IR, http://www.facebook.com/pages/Make-and-Do/153488021368585, http://twitter.com/playfairire
Philipp Ehmann and Abbi Davey/ Street Game Conspiracy
Duncan Speakman https://duncanspeakman.net/holla-lulu/
Simon Johnson www.s-j.io/index.php/about/
Simon Katan www.simonkatan.co.uk https://twitter.com/kimonsatan?lang=en
Tassos Stevens https://coneyhq.org/tassos-stevens/
Jonatan Van Hove, Rejkjavik/Belgium, https://joon.be/
Clara Hischmanner http://www.bluehirsch.at/about-2/
Coney, https://coneyhq.org/about-us/
Brian Hartley https://stillmotion.co.uk/
Marek Plichta and Till Wittwer https://ordnungswissenschaft.wordpress.com/
Octopus Fruitbat: Tim Mannveille and Clare Huxley http://octopusfruitbat.com/
Pollie Barden and Chloe Varelidi
Joanna (Badaude) https://twitter.com/badaude?lang=en
Jason Anthony https://twitter.com/iasonaki47
George Buckenham http://v21.io/
Joshua DeBonis and Nikita Mikros http://sortasoft.com/killerqueen/
Tania El Khoury http://taniaelkhoury.com/
Guerilla Dance Project http://www.helliontrace.com/
Jaime Woo, Canada https://jaimewoo.com/
Simon Watt http://www.readysteadyscience.com/
Alice O’Connor https://www.rockpapershotgun.com/tag/alice-oconnor/
Linden Vongsathorn, Hide and Seek
Splash & Ripple https://www.splashandripple.com/

Universities, labs and Institutes

The Game Innovation Lab http://game.engineering.nyu.edu/about/
Game Culture Club http://gamecultureclub.org/
The Herdecke Sawhorses (IT/FR/DE/US) http://sawhorses72hi.tumblr.com
UCLA Game Lab, http://games.ucla.edu/
BackLab Collective http://backlab.at/about-backlab-collective/
GEEE geelab.eu
https://www.ludovico.at/
https://www.mobillab.wien/

Social Media groups
https://associazionegiochiantichi.it/home
https://www.facebook.com/groups/gamecultureclub/about/

Festivals
http://exile.dk/
Play:Vienna playvienna.com
Tocatì Festival https://tocati.it/en/
Prototype Festival http://prototypefestival.org/
PopUp Playground http://popupplayground.com.au/
Play Siegen http://www.playinsiegen.de/programm/
https://www.streetlife-festival.de
www.frogvienna.at
https://www.streetlife.wien/streetlife-festival/
https://playfulartsfestival.com/
http://www.comeoutandplay.org/new-york-city-2018/
https://www.wearepublic.nl/en/event/playful-arts-festival-2018-2/


#2

http://ludocity.org/wiki/Main_Page
http://2012.playvienna.com/schedule.playvienna.com/en/playvienna/public/schedule/index.html
https://derive.at/autoren/street-game-conspiracy/
http://weekender.hideandseek.net/sunday-games-events/